State law also imposes special time limits and procedures for pursuing claims against public entities in New Jersey.
First, you must file a formal notice of your intention to sue. You must file such notice within 90 days from the date on which you were injured. (Or, if you were a minor at the time, you can file within 90 days of your 18th birthday.) Failure to file the notice on time will bar your lawsuit forever.For a tort claim notice against the State of NJ, see the following link:
This form is for the State of New Jersey. Each individual municipality may have its own form, but the required contents of the notices would be similar to if not identical to those requested in the State form. You can contact the individual municipality directly for their form.
In addition to the formal notice, you must also send a certified letter to any public party that may share in the liability for your injuries. This includes county, municipal, and state agencies, as well as their employees. The certified letter must include all of the following:
Once your lawsuit is settled or a court ruling is reached, you will no longer be able to pursue additional claims against those same entities/employees for the same injury.